Family to the Rescue

With two exams coming up next week and an extreme amount of homework piled up on top of studying, I knew exactly where I would be this weekend—my desk. I had a long list written out of the things I needed to get done, but when I sat down to begin I was missing my ambition. I had absolutely none, zero, zilch, nada. It was awful.

When I find myself in these situations I usually give my Dad a call. He usually knows exactly what to say to help me find some motivation to get things done. His suggestion was a little different than what I was expecting. Usually I get a “just sit down and make yourself do it, you’ll feel so much better when you get done,” instead I got a “why don’t you come home for the night and focus on it tomorrow.”

My amazing family that I love so much.

My amazing family that I love so much.

Now I only live about 40 minutes away so going home is an easy task for me. So I decided to pack up my pajamas, a change of clothes, and head for home for the night.

When I got home, I did a whole lot of nothing. My little sister, who is 9, diagnosed me with “armpit cancer” while she was playing doctor and I was her patient, my mom made me a home cooked meal (always better than going out to eat), I relaxed in our hot tub with my entire family (sitting in it three times within about 12 hours), I lost while playing “The Game of Life”, and I got to peacefully sleep in my own bed.

My beautiful sisters. Makenna (16) and Maylin (9)

My beautiful sisters.
Makenna (16) and Maylin (9)

Now today, as I am currently sitting at my desk working on my mountain of homework, I have a new energy to get things done. All I needed was to take a break and to spend some quality time with the people who motivate and love me the most. I am sure glad my Dad advised me to spend some time away from Mount Mercy, because now I know I can study and rock these upcoming tests!

Leave a comment